Excellence in Veterinary Care Throughout the World.

The American Board of Veterinary Practitioners (ABVP) is committed to recognizing and advancing excellence in species-specialized veterinary practice.

Become a Specialist Find a Specialist

Committed to Care

Founded in 1978, ABVP Diplomates have a common desire and willingness to deliver superior, comprehensive, multi-disciplinary veterinary care, and have demonstrated expertise in the broad range of clinical subjects relevant to their species specialty and whole patient, life-long care.


Our Standards

ABVP is an AVMA-recognized veterinary specialty organization™ (RVSO) for certification of each AVMA-recognized veterinary specialty™ (RVS) listed below. Additionally, ABVP undergoes a comprehensive evaluation every three years by the American Board of Veterinary Specialties (ABVS) to uphold the highest standards for the certification and maintenance of certification process.


Recognized Veterinary Practices

Veterinarians who certify in a Recognized Veterinary Specialty (RVS) become a Diplomate of that RVS.
ABVP currently certifies veterinarians in twelve separate specialties.


Aligning with the Best Practitioners in the Field

Certification takes dedication, adherence to high standards of practice and continuing education. Ultimately, it sets you apart— among the most ambitious, forward-thinking professionals in veterinary care, driven by a commitment to the well-being of animals and those who care for them.

Get Certified

Become a Specialist

Count yourself amongst a very small group of specialists who earned the Diplomate title and join an elite cadre of species-specialized veterinarians dedicated to veterinary excellence. Start your journey to certification today.

Learn More